Been Reading the Dresden Files

One of my goals for 2012 was to do more reading. I kept it easy, only two books a month, more as a reminder to break away from the computer once in a while. So, I started reading the Dresden Files series. I’m going to add my posts here from Goodreads on both of the first two novels. I know I’m going a lot easier on these books than some reviewers. I just really enjoy the premise, and have had a good time reading them so far. Two books down… twenty-two to go!

Storm Front- A Novel of the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher

My Goodreads review on “Storm Front”:

I started out on the audio book for this one, and I loved listening to James Marsters. His voice is great for the part. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to finish the audio, and switched over to my print copy.
I’m not great at reviews. I just enjoy something, or I don’t. This novel had a few problems, but overall I loved the concept of a practicing wizard with a listing in the yellow pages. It was entertaining enough to make me overlook things that others complained about. I’m more than willing to continue the series.

Check it out at http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8149249-storm-front

 

 

 

 

Fool Moon- A Novel of the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher

 

My Goodreads review on “Fool Moon”:

I know folks have some complaints about this series,and I can see some of their points, but I still really like it. It’s a fun adventure and an enjoyable read.

That said, my worst problem with both the first two books has been with Murphy. In “Storm Front” I kept thinking that for such a great cop, her actions were kind-of stupid at times. The feeling only got worse in “Fool Moon.” Granted,she’s not the hero, and isn’t meant to save the day… but does her behavior have to be a major cause of problems that seem to make things change for the worse?

This was another neat take on supernatural beings. It looks like Harry might be opening up to the idea of a relationship, and we got to see some more glimpses of his hidden past. Most of the time, the story moves along well, making this a fairly fast read. I’m looking forward to the third installment.

Take a look at http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8150561-fool-moon

Keep Writing!

Laura

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ink Smith
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 06:48:02

    I know you’re going to keep reading anyway, but I thought you’d be happy to know this little (not-spoilery) tidbit: Murphy gets better. 🙂

    Reply

    • UnrestrainedFancy
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 16:28:27

      You’re right. I’m almost finished with book 3, and she’s been good lately. Have you read all of the series? I only own the first three, but I’m going to beg family to get me more for my next birthday, or something. I just love the premise. And Harry is a neat character, despite his flaws.

      Thank you for following my blog!

      Laura

      Reply

      • Ink Smith
        Mar 17, 2012 @ 22:38:13

        I have read the rest of the series (so far). 🙂 I think the newest one will be published this year or next year. It…well, it ESCALATES. In a good way. I’m so happy to see another person who’s fairly new to the series (I read all the books so far in a span of two to three weeks in February, via a Kindle).

        And I’m happy to follow your blog. 🙂 I’m on the lookout for good stuff to read – and I think you’re sharing and writing great reads here.

      • UnrestrainedFancy
        Mar 17, 2012 @ 23:13:44

        Thanks so much. I’m glad you like it. I enjoyed visiting your blog as well!

Leave a comment

Flickr Photos

Goodreads