My First Literary Contest

Contests: Anyone else going for the blue ribbon?

I follow several blogs on writing, and came across a post about the PNWA (Pacific Northwest Writer’s Association) Literary Contest. So, after reading up on it a bit… and mulling over the idea of spending the $50 entry fee… I decided to enter The Enduring.

There are a dozen categories:

1. Mainstream
2. Historical
3. Romance (electronic only)
4. Mystery/Thriller
5. Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
6. Young Adult/Middle Grade
7. Nonfiction/Memoir/How-To
8. Screenwriting
9. Poetry
10. Short Story
11.  Children’s Picture/Chapter Book
12. Adult Short Topics (Article/Essay/Short Memoir)

My work went in under the YA/Middle Grade category. They allow 28 pages max (including a one page synopsis.) I took a few days to make sure everything was in order, then shipped it off today.

Now that it’s done, I started looking into a couple others that interested me. Does anyone else out there participate in this kind of thing? Any words for or against?

Let me know what you’re thinking! And, in the meantime…

Keep Writing!

Laura

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Newton
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 09:50:17

    I have entered a few in my time 🙂

    And I chose ones which either had a useful prize or offered critique.

    Well done on submiting yours. When are you notified of the results?

    Reply

    • UnrestrainedFancy
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 03:53:35

      Thanks for the reply!

      Gosh, there are some fishy contests out there. I’ve seen several that give publishing contracts as a first prize, but it sounds like you just sign away rights to your story by entering. This one looks like the real deal. Every entry get two critiques. The prize for each category winner is $700 and the Zola Award.

      Finalists are notified in June, and the winners are announced at their conference in July. I jokingly told my husband to be on standby, because we’re flying to Seattle if I make the finals! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Mel Corbett
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 18:51:18

    Good luck! That sounds awesome 🙂 I’m thinking maybe I should start entering some literary contests or submitting to magazines. I think submitting to contests like this is a huge step in your writing career.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

To See the Light

Spice Finch in the clown car bush Madrona Marsh Torrance 320

Chipped Glass - HMM..x

More Photos

Goodreads

