A Great Writing Resource for Fiction

Just finished one of the best books I’ve ever read on story structure. Some complained that the author repeated himself a lot, and I can see their point on that, but it wasn’t really an issue for me. I guess I was busy trying to absorb everything as best I could, while picking apart my own works-in-progress in my mind. I have finished this with a lot of new ideas to put into play, and some excitement that the knowledge imparted here will get me closer o where I want to be. My Goodreads review:

Feb 13, 2012
5 of 5 stars
Story Engineering- Mastering the 6 Core Competencies of Succesful Writing

I have only found a couple books on writing over the years that gave me more than just a few gems of useful info, but I have to say that this book was pure gold!!! If you are writing fiction, it is a must-have. I learned so much about story structure, character building, scene creation, theme… the list goes on and on.
Those who do little or no pre-planning before starting a story will be terrified of the ideas here, but I already used simple outlining to put my stories together. This just takes it so much deeper. We aren’t talking formula, but he clearly explains what nearly all good stories have in common, and how you can put those structural examples to work in your own writing. I take my goal of achieving publication very seriously, and I truly believe this is a tool that will help.
Keep Writing!
Laura
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 18:55:33

    I love Larry Brooks’s site and finally broke down and bought Story Engineering. I’m skipping around – focusing on the structure right now rather than the other competencies. I also have his When Every Month is NaNoWriMo.

    I feel like his insights into structure and writing have really helped me progress as a writer, and now, my stories don’t sag in the middle! (which when they did is where they would die on the vine). I get bored with a full outline, but if I map out my story milestones, I feel like I can jam through by writing to each milestone point.

    Anyway, I’m new around here and am glad to connect with other aspiring writers. Good luck 🙂

    Reply

  2. UnrestrainedFancy
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 07:13:08

    Welcome, and thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I have never visited Mr. Brooks site. I found out about his book from another blog, and couldn’t resist ordering it right away. Having finished reading (along with taking tons of notes) I am working to break down both my completed novels, and see where I stand with the structure. I was already in a rewrite on the first novel so this is good timing.

    I visited your blog earlier, and loved your idea of making a spread sheet to track scenes. I’m thinking of creating a file that I can use in a similar way, to cover several aspects of story structure. It will be great for the next novel. Anyway, thanks a bunch!

    Laura

    Reply

    • Novel Girl
      Mar 06, 2012 @ 01:36:49

      I’m sure you’ve seen my eight-part series on my blog (search via category in left column) but in case you haven’t this book was the best I’ve read for its category. Loved it too!

      Reply

      • UnrestrainedFancy
        Mar 12, 2012 @ 03:12:15

        I most definitely read your series. I felt so fortunate to find your blog, because that is the first I’d ever heard of this book by Mr. Brooks. I ordered it very soon after, and was so glad I did. Thanks so much for all the great posts you have made. They’ve been an immeasurable help to me!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

