My Writing Goals for 2012

20071126-todo-list

A fellow blogger wrote a good piece about setting some writing goals for 2012, and I thought this would be a great plan for me. First of all, I love to make lists. It’s something about the sheer joy I get from check-marking tasks as they are completed. My way of presenting myself with a pat on the back or a gold star, I guess.

Also, with a  mind that spends a great deal of  time in my own personal Never Never Land (I warned you—unrestrained fancy.), I need occasional reminders that keep me grounded. The plan is to hang my list across from my desk. That way I see it all the time, and have no excuse for forgetting things.

Several of my items concern the internet. I’m planning to set up my website this year. Also, I want to blog regularly, and stop ignoring my Facebook and Twitter accounts. I’ll be sending out queries for The Enduring, and as soon as I finish the major edit in the works, Heart of the Jagdiip will start going out again too. I wrote a few chapters of the sequel to TE, and I’d like to complete the first draft this year. There’s another story idea on the back burner that I’m trying to develop enough to get a rough outline laid out. Then, I added one goal to read 2 new novels a month, and another to spend on night a month gaming or watching movies to give myself the occasional break.

It’s a pretty tough list. Knowing my schedule, things might not get done as quickly as I hoped. But I thank S.A.M. for inspiring me to actually put together some kind of game plan!

 

Keep writing!

Laura

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JuliaMellor
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 09:21:08

    Great goals! I have the same kind of plan….good luck and keep at it!

    Reply

  2. Novel Girl
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 10:23:35

    Stay focused and aim to do small goals, every day. If you put your mind towards something small, suddenly it’s all too easy to do and it builds up to a big achievement. But if you aim to do something overwhelming sporadically, then it’s so much more effort that you may not have.

    Reply

  3. UnrestrainedFancy
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 02:18:17

    Thanks so much for the feedback! It’s great to hear from other writers, and nice to feel like I’m on the right track. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Toulouse Sunset

Monolith

Sunset at Delicate Arch

More Photos

Goodreads

